Skip to content

Samoa Cookie bars! (the new and improved)

September 1, 2011

Samoa Cookie bar

While I loved the original samoa cookie bar recipe that I tried last year, my main complaint was the bottom layer of chocolate didn’t dip as smoothly as it could have. When I dipped the bottoms into the chocolate the yummy shortbread layer crumbled! I was frustrated because I felt like the crumbs contaminated my chocolate and therefore I spent time scoping out the crumbs after each dipping.

Anyway, I decided that I didn’t want to eliminate the chocolate layer completely, it just had to go somewhere else.   After the shortbread layer, I microwaved 1 cup of chocolate chips and spread it on top of the shortbread.  (You can always add more chocolate, 1 cup was just enough chocolate to cover the 9×13 pan.   I didn’t want too much of a chocolate/sweet layer.)  I put the chocolate/shortbread layer in the fridge for about 5 minutes and then took it out.  (I just wanted the chocolate to get semi hard.)

I proceeded with the recipe as normal with the coconut/caramel and the chocolate swirls on top. Putting a chocolate layer after the shortbread layer saves a lot of time, because you aren’t dipping individually!

Original recipe: http://bakingbites.com/2009/02/homemade-girl-scout-cookies-samoas-bars/

My first samoa cookie bar attempt: https://nerualnib.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/samoa-cookie-bars/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

