Skip to content

Cafe Orleans – Disneyland

November 19, 2010

I have read on many Disney fansites the best thing to eat at the park is the Monte Cristo sandwich at the Blue Bayou.  For years I wondered what this sandwich tasted like?   It’s turkey, ham, and swiss cheese dipped into a batter, fried, and sprinkled with powdered sugar.

Anyway, the few times I have tried to dine at the Blue Bayou they were not taking walk ins, reservation only.   On one trip I decided to try my luck at the less expensive alternative, Cafe Orleans which is right across from the Blue Bayou.   Similar menu and lower prices sans the Pirates of the Caribbean ambiance.

Majority of Cafe Orleans is outdoors, overlooking the Rivers of America.   On a cool day, I opted for indoor dinning.  Without hesitation I knew what I wanted, the famed “Monte Cristo” sandwich.  My sister and I shared the “Pommes Frites;” french fries rolled in parmesan cheese, a garlic and parsley mix, and served with a Cajun spice dipping sauce.

The pommes frites were fantastic!  Yeah, heavy on the garlic… but with lots of flavor.  The Cajun dipping sauce wasn’t that spicy, but tasty as well.   They probably have good ol’ ketchup was well.

Now the Monte Cristo was a different story; I didn’t care for it.  It was SUPER heavy and it tasted like a donut sandwich.  I should have been honest with myself, I don’t really like donuts to begin with.  I ended up eating 1/4 of it as is.  The remaining 3/4 I picked up the meat and cheese and left the fried stuff on the plate.

I need to reiterate, Monte Cristos are HEAVY!  OMG!!! Super heavy!!!  (The fried pommes frites didn’t help either probably.)  Eating this sandwich is like a heart attack in waiting.  If you like donuts and fried food, you’ll probably like this.  To get the blood moving again, please take a few laps around Disneyland just to work off the calories!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

