Skip to content

Mickey Mouse Tortilla Chips

January 10, 2010


Isn’t it annoying that it’s sometimes cheaper to buy a larger bag of tortillas than a smaller bag?  It makes me sad to throw away a good bag of tortillas, so what do I make without buying more ingredients?  Mickey Mouse chips!

Instead of frying up regular triangular chips, I added a Mickey touch. It brought me back to the days when Disneyland would sell Mickey Mouse shaped chips. (I think it was usually for the kid’s meal; that’s how long ago it was!)
Anyway, I purchased 3 Mickey cookie cutters when I visited Tokyo Disneyland 2.5 years ago. I have yet to find a great rolled sugar dough cookie recipe, so these cutters had never seen any dough action.

I highly recommend using metal cookie cutters instead of plastic ones. Metal ones just CUT through the tortilla faster and cleaner than plastic.




One Comment leave one →
  1. February 20, 2013 9:51 pm

    The reason small bags and large bags are basically the same price is because in production facilities smaller bags are much more difficult to process. The price for the film (or bag) is close to the same cost. From 1988 to 2007 my company Magic Wand Food Products sold Mickey Chips to Disneyland. We never could provide small serving bags because production costs were too high. We sold thousands of pounds of Mickey Chips but were never granted a retail license for sale of the chips outside of the park. The product was a great success at Disneyland.

Leave a Reply

