Skip to content

Miss them! Happy anniversary!

July 18, 2009

July marks the 11 year anniversary of when I first discovered *NSYNC via Disney Channel’s “In Concert” series in 1998.   I clearly remember being absolutely FASCINATED by 5 sweaty guys dancing at Disney’s MGM Studios.   There was two very desirable aspects of this show 1) dancing and 2) Disney.

Halfway through the show, they sang “I Want You Back,” this song sealed the deal for me.  I just had to record the show!  I wasn’t too internet savvy back then, so I combed the pages of TV guide looking for a repeat of the show; thankfully it repeated at 10pm.  I didn’t know how to use the VHS recorder, so I had to find the manual to do so.  Thanks to *NSYNC I learned to program the VHS.

Soon, watching the concert just wasn’t enough.  I HAD to buy the album.  I remember going to North County Fair’s “The Warehouse” music store.   I went to the “N” section and it was empty, no more *NSYNC albums.   After I inquired with a sales associate, they were just at the bottom of the shelf, over stock.  I proudly purchased my first “real album.”   (Real album meaning non Disney soundtrack.)

I listened to the album every single day, multiple times a day.  I just couldn’t get enough of track #8, “I Want You Back.”   It was just the start of how much I adored *NSYNC.

Disney had several other “In Concert” series.  Some that I can remember, Bewitched, Britney Spears, Jessica Simpson/Jason Raize, BBMac, Backstreet Boys, etc…  Of course it was the first one that I saw, *NSYNC that absolutely hooked me for life.

Some people may or may not know this, but the first “In Concert” series was supposed to go to the Backstreet Boys, BSB pulled out last minute and *NSYNC took their place.  I wonder if they hadn’t pulled out, if I would be a BSB fan to this day?

Below is the first song of the concert, “Crazy for You.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

